How Much Child Support To Pay
(Round Rock, Texas)
I was divorced on January 29, 2008 in Williamson County, Texas. My ex-wife filed on her own without an attorney and we went to court, both without legal representation. The court documents say that I am to pay $300 per month per child. Further down in the divorce papers it states I should pay $75 weekly for child support for my son. Since the divorce, I have had 3 jobs and my employers have filled out the paper work to have the support withheld from my check. Sometimes it is more than $75 a week. I was layed off and have been on unemployment. The support that they withheld was more than the $75 a week again. Now I have a new job. I want to make sure that the $75 a week is taken out of my paycheck. The $75 a week is sometimes more than $300 a month. Is there a form I need to give to my employer to make sure this happens. I don't know if I am supposed to pay $75 a week like the papers say or $300 per month. I was told by a friend that Texas law is 20% per child. I am very confused.