Being Overcharged for my child support order

by Jennifer
(Georgia)

My child support case is in GA and GA law states that How Child Support Amounts are Decided


The NCP's total gross monthly income is multiplied by the percentage specified in the Georgia child support guidelines found in Georgia Law, O.C.G.A. 19-6-15. Ranges are as follows:1 Child = 17-23%; 2 Children = 23-28%; 3 Children = 25-32%; 4 Children = 29-35%; 5 or more Children = 31-37%."

Now I have a court order on 2 children that is supposed to be $499/mth, including $83 of it on my arrears amount. If this is the case, then I'm getting overcharged for my child support order. I also found:

"Most cases are based on midrange for the number of children. Other factors specified in O.C.G.A. 19-6-15 might be considered when determining the amount of Georgia child support within and outside the range. These include, but are not limited to, the availability and reasonable cost of medical insurance coverage and or any additional minor children that the NCP is legally responsible to support."

Now if this is the case I'm getting ripped off by the state because right now I am out of work, I resigned from my last company on good terms and am in the process of finding something else here soon. As for the other non-custodial parent, he signed over his rights last year, is on SSI in PA and wants nothing to do with my children. I also found this:

"O.C.G.A. 19-6-15(i)(2)(B)(ii) was enacted in 2006 and provides that to calculate the self-support reserve for the noncustodial parent, the court or the jury will deduct $900.00 from the noncustodial parent's adjusted income; that if the resulting amount is less than the noncustodial parent's pro rata responsibility of the presumptive amount of child support, the court or the jury may deviate from the amount of support provided for in the child support obligation table to the resulting amount; and that if the child support award amount would be less than $75.00, then the minimum child support order amount will be $75.00."

Now can I stand my ground and fight for a reduction in my child support or not? This is outrageous. If someone in NC pays $500 for 3, why do I have to for 2?

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Child Support Questions.